Pinterest and event marketing: Good companions?

Have you already added the “Pin It” button to your browser? If yes, it seems you are not alone in this! If not, let me know and I am happy to send you an invite.

It feels a bit like the next big thing has been identified and that everyone jumps on this bandwagon – including myself, I confess! According to, Pinterest already ranks No. 19 of all websites in the US, with a rapid growth – and yet, you still need an invite to be able to use it.

Now, what is it all about?

In a nutshell, Pinterest is really nothing new. “Pinterest lets you organize and share all the beautiful things you find on the web. People use pinboards to plan their weddings, decorate their homes, and organize their favorite recipes. Best of all, you can browse pinboards created by other people. Browsing pinboards is a fun way to discover new things and get inspiration from people who share your interests.”

That’s what they say on their website. At the end of the day, it is nothing more than a social bookmarking service, but… a very beautiful one.

And in that respect it corresponds to the usage patterns of the “Generation Tablet”. It has a strong commercial aspect, and that makes it relevant for online shoppers and respectively everyone who wants to sell products on the internet.

But do we event marketers have to worry about it? Well, as soon as a social network picks up speed and passes a significant usage threshold, we should at least know what it’s about, and ideally monitor it.

I find a service like Pinterest particularly exciting for trade shows, especially all trade shows that present consumer products (consumer electronics, home decoration, furniture, fashion etc.). Browsing Pinterest, you do not yet see a lot of organizers that would use it in that way, but I am sure we’ll see examples soon.

A major event that uses Pinterest in a cool way is SXSW (thanks, Ruud, for the link!). Obviously, they have understood the potential and created something pretty nice.

As always, the current discussion in Germany about Pinterest evolves primarily around the potential legal risks of such a service. It seems to be in German genes… I do not want to go into any detail here, but a corporate organizer should be aware that there might be issues with copyright-protected images. However, when a trade show organizer would offer such a service as a promotional tool for their exhibitors, I reckon it is in the interest of them to agree to such a publication.

Have you come across any examples yet? Let’s share them!

Here’s a short tutorial on how to use Pinterest (thanks to Tristan from!)

9 thoughts on “Pinterest and event marketing: Good companions?

  1. This is very timely for me because I just joined Pinterest this morning after being told by my wedding planner, invite designer and florist that I was crazy for not yet having signed up. I like it so far but I am worried about how much time this could suck out of my day if I’m not careful!


  2. I am a personal Pinterest user and was curious how events could put it to use – SXSW is such a great example of how creative you can get with social media!


  3. Hi Michael. Good timing as this was on my hit list for the week and was looking to hit up friends for an invite. Great article and ideas. I look forward to your invite.
    Thank you!


Leave a Reply

